JACK OF MANY TRADES

Nelson Kiptoo Biama
Nelson Kiptoo Biama

I have always had an eye for young entrepreneurs with an eye for business. It is very inspiring to see people trying to make it in this world. One of them is Nelson Kiptoo Biama. His is a name well known in Eldoret, I had to meet him and now I am letting his story known to the world. The interview went as follows;
Give me a brief description of self.
Well it is not for a man to state who he is because we always learn something new about ourselves each day. That said, I would say that I am a social and an outgoing person, I am that man who is easy to talk to and a good listener. I would also say that I am a person with a million ideas in my head literary. (Chuckles) and I love kids very much and putting a smile on their faces is enough to put one on mine for days.
Tell me about your companies
I have two (for now) the first being Eldoret Finest Modeling Agency (EFMA) which was founded in 2014 by Nicholas Ndugire and I. It was founded with the intent to revolutionize modeling in the city of champions. Initially, EFMA was meant for corporate modeling but we have since diversified to other types of modeling. Our main being coming up with events to which our models can showcase their talents.
The second is FABWIL Foundation. which I insist is purely for charity and social works. Now FABWIL is a foundation registered as an NGO that intends to put a smile on people’s faces. It was founded in 2014 by me. Together with a dedicated team we have come a long way in trying to achieve that. We want to journey with people especially children battling various challenges/obstacles in life. We aim to make a difference and to make a permanent mark in one’s heart. I love the quote by mother Teresa that is the motto FABWIL lives by “It’s not how much we give but how much love we put into giving.”

FABWIL Foundation Board 20150608_205854What inspired you to get into entrepreneurship?
Other people’s success stories inspire me to be a better version of myself. Most importantly though is the the freedom to create my destiny. My success and failures should be my own to make me a better person in all that I choose to do. I find it exciting not to be limited by anyone else but my own mind.
What challenges do you come across while managing your companies?
I have had many of those. The biggest being, financial constraints. There are obviously so many things I would have ventured into. I would have loved to expand my service orientation but lack of enough resources become a hindrance. Competition is the other challenge; this is in reference to EFMA. Every other time I have had to deal with people trying to poach models and even steal our ideas. I have been lucky because our team has always been many steps ahead.
Max MaxWhat do you think is the major virtue you have that keeps you in the game?
Persistence and humility, you know what Joan, I always believe that nothing good comes easy. Failing one time does not always mean you are a failure, it is instead an opportunity to learn more and keep trying. I am also not one to forget where I started.
Tell me about some of the achievements you have made.
To me every little jump over a hurdle is a success. The other achievements are a team’s success that I do not take credit for. I will mention them regardless; as EFMA coming up with events like Kitenge Fashion Festival (Eldoret Edition) and Miss E-town. The team spirit in the agency is something I take pride of.

Max with the kids in one of the charity events
Max with the kids in one of the charity events

The campaigns run and implemented by FABWIL are achievements as well. They include #TakeSharonToSchool and the most recent #FeedTheStreet campaign among others. We also take it as an achievement that we have been part of various other campaigns including #PutASmile and #NikoSober campaigns.
What are your future plans and objectives?
I am working towards building a viable profitable business where I enjoy what I do. I hope to expand outside the borders and make a name for myself.
What would you advice young and upcoming entrepreneurs.
Some small wins are needed to make a big win, you have to appreciate the little achievements that you make. At the same time they should be patient because overnight success is almost an impossibility. Work hard and put God first.
Any quote that you live by?
Genius is 1%  inspiration and 99% perspiration. – Thomas Edison.

Well you heard the man, nothing comes easy so be ready to work hard. I wish you well as you build your empire.

Written and compiled by Joanne Misik

Published by Joanne Misik

I am a communication enthusiast, Avid reader, Ardent writer and a Sound PR Practitioner. Writing makes me the person I wish to become, my writing is as it is in mind and at heart, they call it art.

11 thoughts on “JACK OF MANY TRADES

  1. What n inspiring story there Joan. Pliz go ahead and write a story about the two girls you took to school. FBWL is now a big organization and you should now be registered. We talked yesterday with Hans about the same and have also talked to Max today that you now need a website. Plans are underway and tomorrow someone is coming to my office we talk on the same. Go on with this good word and I know our God is faithful and He will se you through.

  2. Nelly you need to do documentation of the success stories to fundraise and replicate the success.

  3. we applaud max for the good work he has been doing so far,it’s not everyday that you get to meet a young man with great ideas and a big heart,truly you are an inspiration to us

  4. Thank you Mr Kiptoo my area mate you know doing good is not being a hero buh actually a sense of humanity,thats cool & for Joane i like the flow of this story keep it up.

Leave a comment